Pursuing My Interests

I have no college education. None. I was going to do some master herbal classes, and the school closed down right after I bought my books. Yay…right?

It was always a problem to pick a specific major. I’m interested in many subjects. I love literature, particularly Dickens, and writing is a passion of mine, so English? Literature?

But then, I’m fascinated with nutrition and how carbs, fats, and proteins work in our bodies, so how about becoming a dietician? There’s the many hours I’ve spent studying herbs, their energetics and how they work with our bodies to bring about healing. And don’t get me started on aromatherapy.

History is another favorite subject…I’m particularly interested in the Egyptians, the Greeks, the Romans. I’m pretty well read in American history too, having devoured many many books about the Civil War, the Oregon Trail, The Wild West.

I’ve pored over videos on YouTube, learning acrylic painting techniques, how to wire wrap jewelry, etc., etc., and so on. Art?

How is one to choose a particular interest?

In this chaotic blend of subjects, I’ve learned that research is at the forefront of things I like to do and that my research centers mostly around nutrition, herbalism, and aromatherapy.

While I don’t have the time or the money for classes or college, because I’m a stay-at-home-mom with three children under three years old, I’ve thrown myself headfirst into studying the body, how it works, how to nourish it, how to heal it.

I bought a subscription with Scribd. (My only complaint is that I can’t read them on my Kindle Voyage, but I can get over that.) I also started borrowing books that friends recommended. I got some tea samples from different places. And, I signed up to sell dōTERRA oils, because if you sign up to sell them/join a membership, you can earn free oils.

This past week, my interest has been more focused on nutrition. I realized that aromatherapy and herbalism are great! But, if your diet is full of bad stuff, then any form of alternative therapy you use has to fight you and your disease.

Next week, I might change to aromatherapy or herbalism. Letting my interest dictate which I pursue keeps me from getting overwhelmed with the amount of knowledge there is to gain about my three pet subjects.

Nutrition: I’m reading Gut and Psychology Syndrome by Natasha Campbell-McBride, Trim Healthy Mama by Serene Allison and Pearl Barrett, and In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan. Oddly enough, I can remember where I am in each of these books and bounce back and forth depending on where I happen to sit down during my few quiet moments throughout the day. (They’re kind of scattered through my house.)

From studying GAPS, I’ve learned that my digestive system influences my overall health, which I found quite interesting. I’ve heard the term “gut feeling,” but y’all it’s a literal thing! The diet can either destroy the gut or heal it, raising some serious questions about the food that I choose to eat.

I’ve learned that fats aren’t bad, but neither are carbs. My body digests them differently, and, if I respect that, I’m working with my body for optimum fueling. If I eat them both together, the carbs are digested first. Fats are stored until my body has broken down the carbs. Trim Healthy Mama concludes that I should focus on protein choosing to consume only carbs or only fats at each meal, so the body gets a chance to work with both. (I also like that Trim Healthy Mama focuses on stabilizing the blood sugar, because mine stays in a constant yo-yo as I’m working to clean up my diet.)

From Michael Pollan, I’ve learned that, as a society, we’ve become so caught up in the diet battle that we’ve forgotten how to eat food. Our great-grandparents ate soul food, we eat convenience food. Even our “healthy” food is convenient these days. That was an eye-opener, as I tend to read labels, instead of gathering the raw ingredients and making yummy meals myself.

Learning is my passion. I’m not just a student soaking up knowledge, but a Mom on a mission. God gave me a beautiful family, and I want to be a good steward and take care of them in the best way I know how. If I can help their digestions with what they eat, cool hot tempers with aromatherapy, or ease a cough with a tea, I want to be able to do that.

We are fearfully and wonderfully made. Our bodies are God’s temple. A friend suggested that diet is a form of worship, which gave me pause.

Knowing which herbs are good for which things, and eating only organic food doesn’t mean we will be free of disease, because we live in a fallen world. But, it might mean we’re healthy and strong to take on the missions that He has for us. It might mean we actually have the energy to take the Light to the darkness.

As long as it means I don’t have to give up coffee, I’m ready to try anything. Like I said, I do have three children under three-years-old.

IMG_7466Ignore the coloring on the wall… My eldest got a paint marker, and it won’t come off!

Leave a Reply

