Not A Salesman

I had a conference call for dōTERRA. The people above me, they call it an upline, wanted to make sure that I know how to host a class, how to get people interested, and all that fun stuff. They gave me a link to lots of videos, and were really helpful, because they really want me to succeed. They offered me brochures…offered to come help me teach classes…It was really nice, except I’m not really a salesman.

I look over dōTERRA’s products, and I love the ones I’ve used, but it’s impossible for me to go to people and ask them if they’d be interested. These products are expensive, and most of my interested family and friends just don’t have a lot of extra money to spend on essential oils. It’s BOGO week, and I’m feeling awkward about sending screenshots of the daily deals, even though I’m only sending them to people who are genuinely interested.

The truth is, I don’t want to do the regular classes, because I’ve been to those classes, and they don’t tell me what I want to know, which is, how is this going to help my life get better. How do I use all of this stuff? How do I know that this works for me? How do I justify spending this much money on this stuff?

Practicality is key for me with this business.

I’ve enjoyed creating blends of oils in roller bottles…there’s a really good one that I’ve appreciated during cold and flu season. But, I just don’t use roller bottles. I forget I have them. Maybe you use them all the time, in which case, God bless you…you smell great! But, if I’m going to use oils, they have to fit my particular needs.

I’m a busy mom of three children under three years old. My chores have to be streamlined, or they don’t get done. I run my dishwasher daily, sometimes twice a day, so I’ve been researching how to swap my dishwasher detergent for economical, nontoxic, homemade, good for the environment tablets. (I’ll let you know if it works.)

I’m interested in a nontoxic laundry detergent. I’m interested in a spray bottle of counter/surface disinfectant for cleaning away germs after cooking. I’m interested in hand soaps, dish detergents, and, most importantly, the most budget friendly option. (It’s just an added bonus that my counter spray might lift my mood and ease my anxiety.)

I’ve loved learning about aromatherapy, but I’m just not ready to say, “Here. Buy this. You’ll love it.” There are too many voices saying that already. (MLM is one of the reasons I left Facebook, but more on that later.)

You’re surrounded by people who tell you that they have a product to make you slimmer. They tell you that you’ll be healthier. You’ll experience renewed vitality. You’ll lose lots of weight and never want sugar again.

No. I’m not one of those people. The only reason–and I do mean the only reason–that dōTERRA Wellness Advocate link is up there is that if you just so happened to want to try something, it’d mean I have more funds to buy more of these books on my list and maybe swing a few specialty ingredients that we’d like to try. (Lamb anyone?)

It’s about more than money. I want to understand how oils work in our bodies. I want to know which oils support those with depression, which oils help to lower fever, which oils are reported to stop the stomach virus in its tracks.

I’m not a doctor. I don’t have any kind of certification, even though I’d like to have some kind of title someday.

I’m a mom on a mission to find the best remedies for her family. For me, that includes essential oils. So, I will continue to read voraciously, to take extensive notes of what I’ve learned, to use the oils and document whether or not they work for me, to study the energetics and ways that oils work within the body, and, hopefully, inspire others to a better lifestyle.

The reading list grows longer by the day, so if you happen to be interested in supporting my research, feel free to buy an oil or two. It makes me feel like less of a beggar than starting a gofundme, which was my other option.

 

IMG_7015

 

Jayna Gerhart calls herself a Mom on a Mission. She is always learning something new about nutrition, aromatherapy, herbalism, and any other random ideas that pop into her head. 

Leave a Reply

