Real. Great. Mom. 

Today, I would like to present myself with a trophy…but it wouldn’t be for greatest mom ever. 

I left home this morning, headed to a birthday party, forgetting diapers, sippie cups, snacks, shoes… I had my wallet and keys. That’s about it. 

With two toddlers and a three month old, you’d think I’d be an old pro. But…I’m not. I sat looking around my car, which is messy, wondering how I could have towels, two blankets, four books, twelve stale French fries, three abandoned fast food cups from our last adventure out, and a pencil…but no diapers. I had wipes jammed into the overflowing glove box.  How did I not have diapers?

My children enjoyed the birthday party. I bummed a couple of diapers off my sister-in-law. And everything was going great! 

Until my two-year-old took a flying leap into the deep end of the pool with no floats. I got him out, which was a chore, since I don’t swim very well, and–as I spat water–he did it again. This time I was scrambling, but people were all around us, hauling him up. I felt like a real great mom…dripping…coughing…Real. Great. Mom. 
My two toddlers thought it was funny to climb down the ladders and run around the pool. Every time I reached for one, the other took off. I heard other moms gasping in fright, I couldn’t keep up with my kids, and they weren’t listening to me. Real. Great. Mom. 

On the way home, I realized that the two year old had eaten nothing substantial for lunch or snack. On top of that, somebody gave him a Dr Pepper. While I’m usually laid back about that, I couldn’t help thinking I was setting him up to be a junk food junkie…after all my research about the badness of junk food. Real. Great. Mom. 

Now I’m hiding in the bathroom while they play in their playroom. The three month old is hungry, it’s time to go feed him. I barely got the other two to eat any supper. Real. Great. Mom. 

Tomorrow, we’re going on a bug hunt. We’re going to read Bible stories. We’re going to swing. We’re going to eat something besides chips and cupcakes. 

We’re going to be fine, because I am a real great mom. I’m fun. I’m a pretty good cook. I’m happy. I’m a bad dancer, but good at beginning dance parties. 

The bad days don’t define me. And you shouldn’t let them define you either. Wherever you are, you’re the best you there will ever be. You’re special, created in the image of a loving God. You’re His workmanship, and He loves you. 

Have a beautiful life! 

Leave a Reply

